?

Log in

No account? Create an account
 

Publicly Convenient Architectures

About Recent Entries

Oct. 25th, 2005 @ 06:03 pm
peteyoung
God knows where this is, but I just had to swipe it off kittenfarts:

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

Chicken! Oct. 1st, 2005 @ 09:21 pm
marypcb

Chicken!
Originally uploaded by marypcb.
Otherwise unremarkable, the ladies restroom in the Chicken rotisserie, Pasadena has this charming mosaic chicken table to put your bag down on.
Current Music: William Orbit - Piece in Old Stlye I - Hentyk Gorecki

Classical restrooms at Original Joe's Sep. 15th, 2005 @ 08:36 pm
marypcb

The toilets at Original Joe's in San Jose aren't that striking inside - the main attraction is a line of marble tiles around the wall at waist height (see below). But the doors into the restrooms have these delightful classical busts. The doors aren't as thick as they look - the niches just stick out at the back!



Parallel loos at the PDC Sep. 15th, 2005 @ 08:20 pm
marypcb

Parallel loos at the PDC
Originally uploaded by marypcb.
Los Angeles PDC 2005; the men may be queing down the hall but the ladies are empty . . .

While we usually concentrate on more up-market loos, these make a feature of perspective. The curved wall into the loo is also carpeted!

Dancers mural in MN lav Aug. 30th, 2005 @ 08:41 am
rowanf
This is from the ladies' at La Choza Restaurant in Santa Fe, NM. The ribbons they are dancing with continue around the left-side wall. Another colorful painting adorns the right. I just had to take a picture!


Going down the pan Aug. 18th, 2005 @ 08:38 pm
marypcb
Worryingly, the number of public toilets across the UK has fallen by a third in five years. Public toilets are a discretionary service which councils are under no obligation to provide. Local authorities have closed more than 180 public toilet blocks across the North East and Cumbria in the last 10 years. It's cost: the cost of making them accessible to the disabled, the cost of keeping them clean and safe and graffiti free. While lav_reviews doesn't usually concentrate on run-of-the-mill loos, it's a worrying thought that they might not be run-of-the-mill if there aren't any.

The British Toilet Association campaigns for more public loos and it has a Toilet Charter.
Adequate directions to the toilets
Proper signage
Adequate facilities for female toilet users
Hot and cold running water to wash basins
Provision for hand drying
Lockable toilet tissue dispensers
Sanitary disposal units
Fully equipped access toilets
Properly equipped baby change facilities
Effective cleaning regime

And I guess we need to add 'open'.

Obviously lav_reviews needs to get on the press list Aug. 18th, 2005 @ 08:32 pm
marypcb
When they re-opened the loos under Oxford Circus "guests enjoyed a champagne reception under Oxford Circus, as a four-piece orchestra played." Champagne, cantatas - and CCTV: the ideal loo. And from the photo, guests using the facilities while the waitrons distributed the bubbly.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/england/london/4564921.stm

Proposed rating system Aug. 12th, 2005 @ 07:45 pm
marypcb
I'd like to suggest that we start rating reviewed lavs, perhaps on a scale of one to five flushes.

one flush - adequate - "flush in the pan"
two flushes - acceptable
three flushes - pleasant or quirky
four flushes - good facilities
five flushes - excellent facilities, design and decor - "flushed with success"

comments please? ;-)

Ancient urinals Aug. 12th, 2005 @ 05:15 pm
sbisson
In the walls of the castle above Lisbon...

Current Mood: amusedamused
Current Music: Afrocelts - Seed - Green (Nevermore instrumental)

Naming the place Aug. 11th, 2005 @ 07:42 pm
sbisson
   

A public toilets in Otorohanga, New Zealand. But why do the ladies get all the delicate terms?
Current Mood: amusedamused
Current Music: Depeche Mode - Violator - Enjoy The Silence
Top of Page Powered by LiveJournal.com